Dream Prom Looks- a journey

When I don’t procrastinate my blog posts, I procrastinate my school work. It’s a bad habit but I just CANNOT bring myself to write an outline… so instead I will drool over beautiful gowns that I’ve laid eyes on.

Prom season is here and that means, DRESSES~~~

The sad reality is that (for me) there are a couple of factors to keep in mind while searching for a dress…

#1. The price $$$$ —a high schooler without a part time job? Yup half the cost is coming from me so gotta choose wisely

#2. Short vs Long dress— I don’t know about other schools but senior prom at CHS is all about long gowns

(even though, HONESTLY I found really cute short dresses that I would rather wear but for the sake of school tradition and “fitting in” I began my hunt for long dresses)

#3. The color— I wore pink to our winter ball, and I didn’t think my boyfriend would want to wear a pink tie again…

Now let me tell you dresses are not cheap.

:

Forever Unique Sweetheart Maxi Dress w/ Off Shoulder-Asos- $348.06

The dress looks gorgeous until you see the price.

Everything about this dress is perfect though! The length, the COLOR, the off shoulder style that shows the right amount of skin for my liking. Obviously I can’t afford this beauty but the thought of recreating it has crossed my mind…

Bariano Ocean of Elegance Wine Red Maxi Dress at LuLus.com!

Bariano Ocean of Elegance Wine Red Maxi Dress- Lulu’s- $179

A “cheaper” alternative if you love the off shoulder design as much as I do~

I think I actually like the red more than the beige color ^_^

:

Jarlo Diamond Fishtail Maxi Dress with Mesh Insert- Asos- $188.14

The color and mesh inserts of this dress is what made me fall in love  <3_<3

:

This gown is one of my favorites especially because of the open back- it balances out how covered up the front is.

Plus the mesh fabric shows skin in a subtle way which I really like.

If I had the confidence and just the right amount of “who cares what people think” attitude my true dream dress would be this.

:

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I’ve never seen anything like it, there’s too many things I love about it.

The oily, slick, mermaid scale color the material has, with the periwinkle slip underneath is a match made in heaven.

:

Paired with some simple black heels, I would be ready to dance, dance, dance.

Why didn’t I buy this dress then, because I surprisingly DO have the attitude to wear it.

I forgot to mention the price: Antipodium Hot Knife Mermaid Dress with Pleated Skirt- Asos- $583.23

O_O

That emoticon just about sums up my feelings toward both the price and dress when I saw it.

:

Until next time (extreme sale) cute little dress, I got my eyes on you~

Now this next number I most likely WOULD have bought if they had my size 😦

Dancing in the Swoon-light Dress. When the light of the moon catches the silver sequins and pewter beads adorning this gorgeous grey gown, theres no telling how late youll dance the night away! #silver #prom #bridesmaid #wedding #modcloth

Dancing in the Swoon-light Dress- ModCloth- $129.99

someone tell me what exactly a swoon-light is

I liked that the neckline was different from the usual sweetheart, and the cut outs are a nice touch.

(Though my mama wouldn’t allow it)

I always read the reviews and the ratings for this dress fur surprisingly bad… many said how the beads just fell off and that was another reason why I didn’t end up buying this dress.

***TIP*** When looking for prom dresses or actually, for ANY online shopping, make sure to read the reviews because it can really help you determine whether to purchase something or not. Most of the time the reviews customers give are truthful, following them will save your money!!

:

::

50’s Midi Dress with Cut Out Detail- Asos- $71.49

Midi length dresses are trending, and I am definitely hopping on the bandwagon. I think midis would still be long on me though…courtesy of my short legs.

Are you wondering whether I ended up buying one of these dresses?

about 300 pages of dresses later with much frustration and indecisiveness….

Image

… I was able to find a dress 🙂

BUT that will be featured in another post~~~

So much for building all this tension.

Have you found your prom dress? Comment down pictures below if you did, I would love to see everyone’s different styles ❤

6 responses to “Dream Prom Looks- a journey

  1. I think this is one of the most important information for me.
    And i’m glad reading your article. But should
    remark on some general things, The website
    style is ideal, the articles is really great : D. Good job, cheers

    Like

  2. I like the valuable info you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your blog and check again here regularly.
    I’m quite sure I’ll learn plenty of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

    Like

Leave a Reply

