Haircut, say whaa?!

July 17th, 2013. 13 inches of my hair was chopped off and ready to donate. It’s been a dream of mine to someday donate my locks and I’m so glad I finally got around to doing it.

IMG_2319

Image

After I got home I cried a bit because the realization that I actually cut my hair, sunk in. No more milk braids or long wavy hair, top buns are impossible now with all my hair gone. One of my best friends called my frumpy mood, “post haircut depression”. I have to say I was a little upset but I’ve tried to look at this event in a more positive light. I can experiment with new hairstyles now, and summer is a great time for change. I can still curl my hair and rock that wavy updo.

Image

It gives me a warm fuzzy feeling inside when I realize how someone out there will  benefit from my hair. I’ve grown to love my shoulder length bob, I’ve gotten many compliments about how I look more mature. (Even though I had the same hair back in 2nd grade and again in 6th grade). Summer is a time for new challenges and experiences, and I don’t regret my drastic hair change at all 🙂 xx

P.S

If you’re thinking about donating hair, Locks of Love, American Cancer Society, and Pantene Beautiful Lengths are a couple of program you should look into 🙂

Leave a Reply

